Why can’t work be both business and personal?

I still remember the first time I saw “You’ve Got Mail,” I was in 8th grade and went with my mom to a show in Scottsdale, Arizona. My mother, who refuses to watch a film more than once, said during the final credits, “Want to stay and watch it again?” I liked it, but I didn’t see what my mother saw that first time, but with each screening, I adore it more and more.

Today, at work, I was reminded of one of my favorite quotes/conversations. Not because it was a funny movie quote, or particularly interesting, but it just grounds me now and then at work, reminds me what’s really important. I know, a lot to discover from a Meg Ryan movie, right?

 

Joe Fox: It wasn’t… personal.

Kathleen Kelly: What is that supposed to mean? I am so sick of that. All that means is that it wasn’t personal to you. But it was personal to me. It’s personal to a lot of people. And what’s so wrong with being personal, anyway.

Joe Fox: Uh, nothing.

Kathleen Kelly: Whatever else anything is, it ought to begin by being personal.

 

