My right to choose… vegetables and everything else.

“The food you eat can be either the safest and most powerful form of medicine or the slowest form of poison.” Dr. Ann Wigmore

I’ve been a vegetarian since I was ten years old. It’s a strange decision for a pre-pubescent girl to make, but it’s been one of the simplest ones of my life. My parent’s often joke that I “came out the shoot vegetarian,” and they’re right. Ever since I can remember, I haven’t liked the taste, texture of smell of meat. I pushed turkey around on my plate at Thanksgiving, the smell of BBQ’s as a child made me nauseous, and I would even peel off the fried skin of fried chicken and discard the meat.

This has long fascinated some of my friends and co-workers, how could someone not like meat? Imagine your least favorite food, now you don’t have to eat it, this is what being a vegetarian means to me. Every once in a while, I’ll even try a sample of a steak or fish someone insists is amazing, but nothing has managed to swayed my taste buds.

I wish I could pledge my allegiance to PETA, and while I do enjoy the benefit of saving some animal lives over my lifetime, that’s not my reason for ditching animal products. Heck, I wear leather. Because of this, I’ve never been a paint-throwing vegan; I support others and their right to choose what’s best for them. Being a vegetarian is easy for me, effortless almost – but you can pry my morning coffee out of my cold, dead hands because I WILL NOT part with my beloved cup of Joe.

So, while I don’t insist upon a total dietary transformation, I often (and not very subtly) encourage increasing your daily vegetables intake and consuming healthy and organic meat products. Have you seen Food, Inc? Meat isn’t what it used to be, it’s chocked full of antibiotics (which are making our bodies more resistant to the drug), and cows and chickens are fed with corn which these animals were never meant to consume. So, be a smart eater, know what you’re putting in your body.

Every once in a while, I look at my Whole Foods and specialty food bills in shock, but then I remember… I don’t have my car, house or clothing forever. The only thing I’m keeping with me my whole life is my body, and I should take care of it.

