Green Breakfast

I’ve never been a big breakfast person (a hungover brunch is another thing), but I didn’t wanted to skimp out on revving up my metabolism in the morning either. After a failed attempt at a cleanse*, I decided to incorporate more fresh juices into my daily routine to beef up my vegetable and nutrient intake.

For the past month, I’ve been picking up a fresh juice from my favorite LA staple, M Cafe*. My favorite now is the Detox with apple (do NOT forgot the apple, it’s utterly jarring without it), which is made up of Kale, Spinach, Cilantro, Celery, Ginger and Lemon. Can you imagine anything more packed with goodies? One 16 oz drink and I’m up to speed on my daily fruits and vegetables. This has been a nice, light and healthy way to ease into my day. On days when I have a big cardio morning workout, I also have a little oatmeal to tide me over until lunch.


*If you are going to do a cleanse, I highly recommend the Pressed Juicery 3 or 5 day cleanse. It still contains 1200 calories and is very beneficial. If you’re feeling thrifty, you can pick up the juice yourself instead of opting for delivery for a nice little savings.

http://www.pressedjuicery.com

*M Cafe is one of the best finds in LA. It’s a completely macrobiotic cafe, meaning it’s without any refined sugars, eggs, dairy, red meat or poultry. Everything is fresh, healthy and incredibly deliciously. Ever since my office moved within blocks of this sacred gem, I’m become a daily (sometimes twice daily) customer.

http://www.mcafedechaya.com

